FRANCHISE·WATCH·DESK

CAPTION BY HYATT vs COMPASS BY MARGARITAVILLE

Side-by-side figures from each brand's latest FDD Item 20 as we extracted them; verdicts are our opinion under the published methodology, and the source filing and year are on each brand's profile. Green marks the more favorable metric (lower for distress), not a recommendation to buy.

CAPTION BY HYATT
Too new to judge
Verdict
Units · latest run
1 → 1 units (2023–2025)
Net unit change
2 → 5 units (2023–2025)
Too little history
Exit quality
Too little history
Too little history
Transfer / churn
Too little history
No SBA loans
SBA losses vs same-year loans
No SBA loans
—
Distress
—
$95,000
Franchise fee
$65,000
$25.0M–$31.6M
Investment range
$10.4M–$57.9M
5%
Royalty
5%
Not disclosed
Earnings (Item 19)
Not disclosed

CAPTION BY HYATT

COMPASS BY MARGARITAVILLE

Choose different brands
Before you sign anythingfree · 30 min · no commission

A broker is usually paid by the franchisor to place you. I'm paid only by you, never by a franchisor you're considering — and the job is pressure-testing the numbers, including talking you out of a bad deal.

Don Drummond, CPA — Virginia #43775 · what I charge

Book a free 30-minute call →