KONA ICE vs RITA'S ICE-CUSTARD-HAPPINESS
Side-by-side figures from each brand's latest FDD Item 20 as we extracted them; verdicts are our opinion under the published methodology, and the source filing and year are on each brand's profile. Green marks the more favorable metric (lower for distress), not a recommendation to buy.
Units · latest run
+15.7% (2023–2025)
Net unit change
+1.9% (2021–2023)
Strong
Exit quality
Fair
Strong
Transfer / churn
Fair
Too few seasoned loans
SBA losses vs same-year loans
1.0× expected (8 of 74)
—
Distress
—
$15,000
Franchise fee
$35,000
$115K–$229K
Investment range
$293K–$769K
Not disclosed
Royalty
6.5%
Not disclosed
Earnings (Item 19)
Disclosed
KONA ICE
RITA'S ICE-CUSTARD-HAPPINESS
Before you sign anythingfree · 30 min · no commission

A broker is usually paid by the franchisor to place you. I'm paid only by you, never by a franchisor you're considering — and the job is pressure-testing the numbers, including talking you out of a bad deal.