FRANCHISE·WATCH·DESK

Verified — real FDD extraction

SBA-eligible · directory code S3037 since 2018

Row House

Other · independent · est. —

Row House is a boutique fitness franchise offering group indoor rowing classes designed as low-impact, full-body workouts. A franchisee operates a studio outfitted with rowing machines, employing coaches and selling class packages and memberships to fitness consumers.

Row House net unit count grew +2600.0% from 20172019 per its FDD Item 20.

New to franchising? Start here

A franchise is a business where you (the franchisee) pay a company (the franchisor) for the right to open and run a location using their brand and system — think a local Anytime Fitness or Taco John's owned by a small-business owner, not the corporation.

Before you can buy in, U.S. law requires the franchisor to give you a Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) — a long legal filing covering its fees, finances, and history. The numbers on this page come straight from that document:

  • Franchise fee — the one-time cost to buy in.
  • Royalty — the ongoing cut of your sales you pay the franchisor.
  • Item 20 — how many locations opened and closed, the basis for our verdict (from Proven & strong down to Distressed — or Too new to judge).

The verdict

Too new to judge

Distress

7
STABLE

This system grew to 54 franchised units from a base of 0 — the record looks clean because very few units have been exposed for very long, not because many have survived. Median SBA time-to-default is about 61 months; this system has not lived through that window at scale. Judge the disclosures, not a verdict.

Exit rate · latest year

Not disclosed

Cost to open

$277K–$500K

Item 7 total investment range

SBA loan defaults

15.2%

vs 14.8% avg across rated brands

Behind the verdict

the record, factor by factor · Item 20

hi-1.0.0
Net unit growth35%

3-yr trend · Item 20 Table 1

Fair
Exit quality25%

terminations + ceased-ops vs. all exits · Table 3

Strong
Transfer / churn15%

transfers vs. base · Table 3

Fair
Promise-keeping10%

actual vs. projected openings · Table 5

Strong
Transparency15%

Item 19 disclosure + completeness

Strong

Systemwide units

2017–2019

+2600.0%
2201732018542019

Survival record

FDD Item 20 · outlet status by year

In fiscal 2019, 0 of 0 franchised outlets left the system. Not every exit is a failure — but this is the measurable floor.

Show the outlet tables
Status (FTC)201720182019
Outlets at start223
Opened0054
Transfers000
Terminations000
Non-renewals000
Reacquired by franchisor000
Ceased — other reasons000
Outlets at end2354
Net change0+1+51

The lender's view

SBA 7(a)/504 loan performance · FY1991–present

Banks have made 55 SBA-backed loans to Row House franchisees since 2018. Of the 33 that have resolved, 15.2% were charged off (defaulted) rather than paid in full, versus 14.8% across 570 rated brands.

Charge-off rate

15.2%

5 of 33 resolved defaulted

Loss given default

54.7%

avg. charged-off $ ÷ approved $

Expected loss

8.3%

default rate × loss severity

Avg. loan · FY2020+

$343,668

what recent franchisees borrowed

Median time to default

66 mo

approval → charge-off, defaulted loans

Lenders · FY21+ vs FY16–20

7 vs 16

distinct banks — pulling back

Charge-off rate by loan approval year (%)

SOURCE: SBA 7(a)/504 FOIA LOAN DATA (DATA.SBA.GOV), FY1991–PRESENT · MATCHED TO ROW HOUSE BY FRANCHISE NAME · RESOLVED = CHARGED-OFF + PAID-IN-FULL

The owner's side of the deal

FDD × federal loan record

Who finances it

Stearns Bank National Association

14.5% of this brand's loans

That lender charges off 11.8% of its loans to other franchise brands, vs 14.8% nationally.

Who buys it

74.5%

first-time franchise owners

The rest already owned at least one other franchise. Across the corpus, brands bought mostly by repeat operators charge off at roughly 10% versus 17% for brands sold mostly to newcomers.

Does experience help here?

Not enough resolved loans to split

Computed from 55 SBA 7(a)/504 loans to Row House franchisees joined to the brand's own FDD. Debt service assumes level amortization at the average disclosed term and rate. A lender's rate excludes its loans to this brand, so it reads the lender, not the brand.

What it costs — and what it drags

FDD Items 5–7 · fees, investment, royalty

Buying in means a $60K franchise fee (Item 5) and a total investment of $277K–$500K (Item 7). The franchisor publishes an earnings claim (Item 19) — read its methodology closely.

To open (Item 7)

$277K–$500K

all-in investment range

Franchise fee (Item 5)

$60K

upfront, one-time

Royalty (Item 6)

7%

of sales, ongoing

If a unit does this in annual sales…$1M/yr

Your figure — cross-check against this brand's Item 19 and current-owner validation.

Royalty you'd pay / yr

$70K

7% of sales, before profit

Over a 10-yr term

$700K

royalties alone, excl. ad fund

This is not profit. It's the only money the FDD actually pins down — what you put in, and the royalty you owe on every dollar of sales. Your real take-home depends on labor, rent, food cost, and ramp-to-breakeven, none of which any FDD discloses.

Build a real pro-forma for Row House with an independent CPA

Distress signals

news-sourced · bankruptcies, closures, lawsuits

FULL REPORT →

8 questions to ask a Row House franchisee

Built from this brand's own disclosures · take it to your validation calls

The franchisor will give you a list of owners to call. Most buyers ask whether they like it. These are the questions built from what Row House has actually disclosed — each one carries the number it came from, so you can tell whether the answer squares with the record.

  1. 01

    Of 33 SBA loans to Row House franchisees that have finished, 15.2% were charged off — the borrower didn't repay. Did you finance with an SBA loan, and how close did your first two years come to trouble?

    This is the lender's view of failure, from public federal records, and it is independent of anything the franchisor discloses.

    SBA 7(a)/504 loan record, FY1991–present

  2. 02

    Item 7 says the low end to open is $277K, but the average recent SBA loan to a Row House franchisee was $344K. What did you actually spend to open, all in?

    Lenders size loans to real project costs. A large gap between the disclosed floor and what banks actually fund is the most common way buyers get underfunded.

    FDD Item 7 vs SBA approvals FY2020+

  3. 03

    You pay 7.0% royalty on gross sales, plus the ad fund, before any of your own costs. On your actual revenue last year, what did you take home as the owner — not revenue, take-home?

    Royalty is charged on sales, not profit. This is the number the brochure never shows and the one your life actually runs on.

    FDD Item 6

  4. 04

    Row House makes an earnings claim in Item 19. Does your unit look like that number — and do you know which units they included to build it?

    Item 19 is legal to build from a flattering subset. Ask whether they excluded new units, closed units, or company stores.

    FDD Item 19 · 2020

  5. 05

    How many months did it take to cover your own costs, and how much cash did you burn getting there?

    Ramp-to-breakeven working capital is the most underestimated line in any franchise purchase, and the most common reason otherwise-good units fail.

    Not disclosed in any FDD — ask an owner

  6. 06

    What does the franchisor charge for that you didn't expect — required tech fees, mandatory remodels, approved-supplier pricing?

    Required spending appears across Items 6, 8 and 11 rather than in one place, so buyers routinely miss the total.

    FDD Items 6, 8, 11

  7. 07

    If your agreement came up for renewal tomorrow at current terms, would you sign again?

    The single most predictive question you can ask. A hesitation is the answer.

    Ask every owner you speak to

  8. 08

    Who else should I call — including someone who left?

    The franchisor's list is curated by definition. Former franchisees are where the unflattering truth lives, and current owners usually know how to reach them.

    Ask every owner you speak to

Want this as a checklist you can take to the calls?

I'll email you the printable version, and tell you if Row House’s numbers move — a new filing, a rising exit rate, a distress signal. Unsubscribe in one click.

Before you sign anythingfree · 30 min · no commission

A broker is paid by the franchisor to place you. I'm paid by you — and the job is pressure-testing Row House's numbers, including talking you out of a bad deal.

Don Drummond, CPA — Virginia #43775 · what I charge

Book a free 30-minute call →
Own or owned a Row House?no appointment · read by a person

This page is what buyers see before they call you for validation. If the record above is wrong — or right in a way the numbers can't show — say so. Corrections are checked against the filings; nothing you write is published with your name unless you agree to it.

Row House franchise questions, answered from the filings

How much does a Row House franchise cost?

Per Row House's 2020 FDD, buying in requires an initial franchise fee of $60K (Item 5) and a total initial investment of $277K–$500K (Item 7).

What royalty does Row House charge?

Row House charges an ongoing royalty of 7.0% of gross sales, per Item 6 of its 2020 FDD.

Does Row House disclose earnings (Item 19)?

Yes — Row House makes a financial performance representation in Item 19 of its 2020 FDD. Read it closely: franchisors choose which units and which metrics to include.

How often do SBA loans for Row House franchises default?

Across 55 SBA-backed loans to Row House franchisees since 2018, 5 of the 33 that have resolved were charged off — a 15.2% default rate, versus about 14.8% across all rated franchise brands. This is the lender's-eye view of franchisee failure, drawn from public SBA 7(a)/504 FOIA data and independent of the franchisor's own disclosures.